Uncategorized

Update on Dad

Dad’s been doing not-so-well this week. He spent a few days in the hospital last week because he was yelling in his sleep (something he’s never done). Emily was spending the night, so she took him to the emergency room where a bunch of “doctors” didn’t run any tests or come check the screaming monitor that said my dad had no pulse when he unplugged himself. It was ridiculous. He’s back home, but he’s hallucinating frequently and is almost always disoriented. He wants to walk around, but sways and loses his balance. Last night, he fell about four or five times when trying to get to the bathroom. Mom has been trying to look after him, but she goes into panic mode and doesn’t know what to do and ends up irrationally yelling at all of us or becomes overly emotional. I’m having a hard time dealing with her like this, but I’m trying to be patient.
Emily is going to be staying with us for a few nights to keep an eye on Dad. I want to be able to do more, but having the kids (especially a baby) makes it  difficult. I make sure to cook and get Dad something to eat, though, so part of me feels like I’m at least doing something. Mom’s debating the possibility of having a swing bed service look after him. I agree that he needs professionals looking after him, but I feel guilty all the same because he’s my dad and I don’t want him to feel like we’re trying to get rid of him.
Leave a Reply

